+30 22850 29357
Daily 09:00 - 21:00


Find Ferry Tickets

New Search


Enjoy peaceful holidays on the “Island of Peace and Friendship” where young people from all over the world gather every year for their annual meeting. The town of Halki or Niborio, the island’s capital, is listed as a traditional settlement and is amphitheatrically built overlooking the clear blue sea.


0 0






Halki owes its name to the copper (halkos) mines that once existed on the island. After the end of the 19th century it prospered when the local people developed shipping and trade, especially in sponges. In 1983, it was characterized as the “Island of Peace and Friendship” for young people worldwide.
It followed the historic course of Rhodes and was finally united with Greece in 1948. It has an area of 28 sq. km., a coastline of 34 km, and 430 inhabitants. It is linked by steamship with Piraeus (220 nautical miles) and with Kameiros on Rhodes (10 nautical miles).
Built amphitheatrically above a crystal clear sea, Niborio, the capital of Halki, retains its aristocratic beauty, picturesque lanes and the characteristic architecture of the houses. Objectively speaking, it is one of the most beautiful neoclassical settlements in Greece.
The old capital of the island was Horio (village), built beside the mighty castle of the Knights of Rhodes. When the inhabitants overcame their fear of pirates, they established Halki or Niborio (1850-1870), in which many mansions were then built, which to this day preserve the memories of its finest years. Halki is described as a traditional settlement.
Worth visiting are:
• The imposing stone clock tower in front of the neoclassical Town Hall.
• The church of the city’s patron Saint Nicholas (1861) with the highest bell tower in the Dodecanese and a beautiful black and white pebble mosaic in the churchyard.
• Horio (2.5 km. west), was the island’s former capital, but was definitively abandoned in the 1960s. The little stone houses were built using ancient materials, under the fortress built by the Knights of St John on a unique site with an extraordinary view. It is worth visiting the 16th-century church of Our Lady (Panagia).
• The monastery of the Archangel Michael (5 km. northwest), with its fine icon of the Archangel, and one of St John Alarga, and with its high cypress trees, on the west side of Halki.
• Kameno Spilio (Burnt Cave) on the Amiglai site on the northwest side of the island.

Source: Visit Greece - The Official website of the Greek Tourism Organisation